Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Ohio's State Militia Established Pre-War

Boundary - Ohio River

"...[in the] legislature at Chillicothe in 1803-4, specific laws were passed providing for a state militia. The state was organized with four divisions and John S. Gano, of Cincinnati, was elected major general of the first; Nathaniel Massie, of Chillicothe, of the second; Joseph Blall, of Marietta, of the third; and Elijah Wadsworth, of Canfield, of the fourth. The last named division covered the whole northern half of Ohio, including the counties of Columbiana, Jefferson, and Trumbull--the latter at that time embracing the whole Western Reserve." [Source]

No comments: